Monday, April 4, 2011

I'm Baaaaaack

Took a little break from the blog. Didn't get the dream job...the guys who did are pretty good though...no complaints there.

My last blog post previewed the NCAA tournament. Needless to say, my bracket blew up....with the exception of one team. The Connecticut Huskies.

My analysis for tonight's game: Both teams will feel the nerves. Nervous teams equals turnovers equals trackmeets. Everyone is predicting such a low scoring game but I think it will be the opposite. Count how many times tonight you hear the announcers say 'Butler does not want to get into a trackmeet with UConn!' UConn will outrun Butler and put up 3 times as many points in transition. this game will mark the end of an era in UConn basketball as Kemba will be leaving, but the young kids will step up. Kemba goes for 33, Lamb adds 16 and the surprise of the game, Alex Oriakhi, puts up 15 and 15. 81-72 UConn.

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Madness

This song is great and the music video is potentially even better. Check it out.

Today is one of the 5 best days of the year. MLB Opening day, NFL Wild Card weekend (counting it as one day) come to mind as being pretty awesome, too.

Wanted to take a moment to go through my bracket a little bit. As I look back on it I realize, man am I a homer for the Big East. No earth shattering upsets picked in the first round. I do have both Richmond and Utah St. winning as 12 seeds. I feel like these are pretty popular picks, though.

My Elite Eight gets a little interesting... Kentucky, Syracuse, Texas, UConn, Kansas, Georgetown, Old Dominion, and St. John's. Yes, I fully expect the Southeast bracket to explode and end up in an Old Dominion vs. St. John's quarterfinal match-up. My final four boils down to Syracuse, UConn, Kansas, and the Johnnies. Championship game is UConn beating Kansas with a 72-69 score.

Is it improbable for UConn to win 5 straight to take the Big East and 6 straight to take the NCAAs? Of course it is. How awesome would it be if they did though? In two weeks we could be looking at Kemba Walker as one of the greatest post-season tournament players in college basketball history. They definitely will have a few hurdles, though, if they want to get there.


Hope everyone enjoys today. Let the madness begin.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Kings and Things

I never really understood the fascination with Elvis. Having not grown up when he was a big deal, I think it's hard to understand the icon status he had. Not really too sure who he would compare to in today's world. I'm sure there's someone...just not sure who. Actually, giving it some thought, there is one person in the music industry I might compare him to. Call me crazy...but possibly Eminem? Both hugely popular, very polarizing, extremely successful, kind of a little insane?
Probably one of the best ways to know when someone has reached 'icon status' is when they're promoted to having one name. Elvis. Bono. Madonna. Even modern musicians - Beyonce. Usher. Beiber? Superstars having one name are not uncommon in sports, too. Obviously, international soccer is big into it...Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Kaka, Pele. Other than that, the NBA is probably the next league where you can identify players by their first names - Kobe, LeBron, Carmelo. Baseball never really picked up the one name thing, but they're all about nicknames and there are some great ones. Hammerin' Hank, Mr. Cub, Lefty, The Kid, The Chairman of the Board, The Babe, The Mick, The Iron Horse, The Say Hey Kid, The Wizard of Oz, Pudge. Where did these come from?! Kind of makes me curious what the nicknames of the future will be.


Getting back on track a little bit, I originally got on the topic of Elvis thinking about his nickname - The King (Elvis has the one name icon status AND a definable nickname? Now THAT is big time). Why did I think about The King? Because I watched The King's Speech tonight...obviously. I'll start off by saying, after seeing this film it absolutely deserved to win the Oscar for Best Picture and Colin Firth no doubt deserved Best Actor. When I wrote about Black Swan, I mentioned how the directing stood out to me. Watching The King's Speech, the part that stands out to me is the script and blocking of the story itself. Fittingly enough, it won the Oscar for Best Original Screenplay. In a story about words and the problems that can come when one delivers those words, it's fitting that the words themselves (or in this case sometimes the fragments of words, or the pauses between words, or hesitation between syllables) are the part that stand out to me. Of course, a lot of this has to do with Firth, as well. Imagining that every stutter was written into the script is ridiculous. It was really the ability of Firth to become his character that made his disjointed lexicon flow so freely. Definitely a performance worthy of Best Actor. I'm giving The King's Speech 5 stars out of 5. 


Photo: Elvis Presley doing his thing Credit: Google images; The King's Speech Movie Poster Credit: The Weinstein Company

Thursday, March 10, 2011

In Kemba We Trust

For anyone who did not see it today:
 


Absolutely unreal. Kemba Walker is a beast. I bet the Heat wish they had him right now as their closer instead of LeBron.

UConn takes on Syracuse next. I still remember the pain felt during that 6 overtime loss. Win or lose vs. the 'cuse, I think the Huskies have a 4 seed in the dance locked down.

To get back to Kemba, it'll be interesting to see where he goes in the draft. One negative for him is that he's tiny. Not sure how he'd match up against Williams, Rose, Rondo and the other top point guards in the league. He's definitely got some intangibles, though. Depending on his show in the tourney he could turn into a lottery pick - look at what one good tournament did to put Stephen Curry on the map and into a 7th overall pick.

EDIT: Just hit me I wrote that post while failing to comment on Jim Calhoun's happy dance after the shot. Truly incredible. Please watch that video again and take note.

Video: Kemba Walker draining the winning shot vs. Pitt on 10-Mar-2011 Credit: ESPN

Dream Job Essay: MVP Race

Below is my 'essay' submitted for the dream job. My thoughts on the 2011 MVP race...enjoy...


This seems like it would be taking the easy way out, but I can't really see it any other way. My pick for NL MVP has to be Albert Pujols. My main reason is very simple. So simple it only needs two words to describe: Contract Year.
I'm a huge fan of statistics, too, which provide even more evidence. First and foremost, the guy is averaging 40.8 home runs a year for his career. The past five NL MVPs are averaging 41.8 homers a year. No matter what, the old adage still applies - chicks dig the long ball.
I think my new favorite stat is FanGraphs' WAR. While it's impossible to compare players across generations due to updates in technology, expansion, *cough* PED's *cough*, etc., I think WAR allows for the most even playing field when it comes to this. In a comparison of Pujols with the past three NL MVPs not named Pujols, the numbers are pretty incredible. All 10 of Albert's seasons in the majors except for one (his 2nd year in the league) were better than each of Votto, Rollins, and Howard's MVP seasons. Again, barring injury, this is pretty much a lock.
Also let's not forget those two magical words which go without explaining: Contract Year.

The AL MVP race is much less clear in my eyes. For this award I'll be calling upon my expertise, The Yankees, and will say that the 2011 AL MVP will be none other than Alex Rodriguez. The case for A-Rod is much less about statistics and performance, as it was with Pujols, but more about mental strength and health. Everyone knows what Rodriguez can do when he is healthy - he is purely a monster. Being the fastest to get to 600 home runs, he has proven he can hit the long ball. He is the active leader and 17th all time in RBIs, showing he can drive in runs. He also has the ability to get hotter than any player I have witnessed in my lifetime and carry a team on his back with a 14 home run month. There is no doubt A-Rod has the baseball ability to win AL MVP. Let's take a look at what has held him back though - his health and his head. For the first time since his MVP year in 2007, Alex is healthy. He has shed about 10 lbs. coming into camp and I can tell you from seeing him in person last week, the dude is ripped. On the mental side, Alex was winning MVPs in 2005 and 2007 when New York hate him for not being Derek Jeter. Since then he's been a clutch performer in crunch time, gotten his personal life in order, and won a World Series. The pressure is off and now it's just time for him to play....which he is damn good at. Alex Rodriguez, your 2011 AL MVP. Getcha popcorn ready, Cameron.

Monday, March 7, 2011

MLB Dream Job

So I haven't posted this on here until now (ha...I didn't want anyone else to know about it who didn't already), but Major League Baseball is looking for someone for what they call their 'Dream Job'. The idea is that they'll hire one person, set them up in an apartment New York City starting on Opening Day 2011 (March 31) and follow their experiences as they watch every game of the entire baseball season, blog about it, chat about it, and pretty much overdose on baseball until the playoffs are over in October. I've read a lot of people's opinions saying how this would be overkill and how they would go nuts after watching so much baseball literally every day for the whole summer. ha...I couldn't disagree more, though.

Needless to say, I applied for Major League Baseball's Dream Job.

Ever since I've applied my imagination has gone a little wild with how ridiculously awesome it would be to actually get selected. People toss around the phrase 'once in a lifetime experience', but honestly if this isn't exactly that then I'm not sure what is. I can genuinely say I'm at a point in my life where I would pack up to move to the Big City without hesitation...which isn't a bad thing! (ha...who needs an apartment?)

I know I'd have a great time with this job, too. I'm pretty sure anyone who knows me (slash who has talked to me, lived with me, partied with me) would know this would be about baseball, sure....but it would also be about having a kickass time living in the best city in the world in my 20's while living out a dream. I really think the goal is to have it be kind of like a reality show for baseball fans - it's got to have the baseball knowledge (check) along with that humor and reality aspect to keep people engaged (check). I'm thinking baseball meets reality meets Charlie Sheen.

Getting to the application process, it consisted of writing a few essays talking about why I'd be perfect for the job and who I thought would be winning the AL/NL MVP awards this season. I'll post those up here in the next few days. I also had to create a 2 minute video introducing myself, showing who I am, that I'm comfortable on camera, etc. I'll try to get that on here too....ha I think it was pretty good. Guess that experience as a POPS emcee in high school paid off. I had to talk about my past experience (as I write this, it hit me I never mentioned anything about any singing/acting/public speaking experience....damn) and I had to submit the link to this blog (if you're looking at this - What up Major League Baseball! Make the right decision and pick me!).

So that's about it. I'll be sure to update if I hear anything. In the meantime, leave some love...let me know if you think this is the right gig for me. Who knows, your comment might be the last piece to make MLB pick me!

SS!

Today might be one of the best days of the year. Just looked at the Yankees schedule and realized today is a Split Squad day. For those of you who don't know what that is, it means half the Yankees team will be having a spring training game at 1:05 this afternoon, while the other half will be going away for a road game at 7:05 tonight. The best part? Both games are on MLB TV!

Even Robinson Cano likes it!

Photo: Robbie Cano at spring training in Lakeland, FL Credit: ME!